Bilaspur Station

Bilaspur City


Population: 3.30 Lacs
Local Adminstration: Nagar Nigam (Municipal Corporation)

Mayor: Smt. Vani Rao – Elected on 23-Dec-2009 (Results on 27-Dec-2009)

Bilaspur City, the district headquarter of Bilaspur District, is the largest urban center (town/city) of the region. Bilaspur is the second largest city of Chhattisgarh state. Situated on the banks of River Arpa, Bilaspur is 114 kms from state’s capital towards the north-east.

Chhattisgarh High Court was is setup in Bilaspur on 1st November 2000, the very day when the Chhattisgarh State was constituted, by viritue of which Bilaspur has gained the title of Nayaydhani (न्यायधानी – “legal” capital) of Chhattisgarh State.

Bilaspur City Bus Ltd. provides the city bus service.

The local administration body of the city is Bilaspur Nagar Nigam – Bilaspur Municipal Corporation. Bilaspur has 53 wards. Each ward elects a corporator for a tenure of 5 years.

Bilaspur is a district of the Chhattisgarh State of India and is the district headquarters and the second-largest city in the State.  It is called Nyaydhani (legal capital) because High Court is located here.  Besides this, it is also the headquarters of the South East Central Railway which comprises the Bilaspur, Nagpur and Raipur divisions.  Bilaspur is also well connected to the rest of the country by means of rail and road network hence improving the economy of the city.  The city’s main commercial hub is Vyapar Vihar, Telipara, Link Road, Bus Stand Road, Rajiv Plaza and Gol Bazar.

Bilaspur is situated on the banks of the rainfed Arpa River which originates from the high hills of the Maikal range of Central India.  Arpa is very shallow in depth but sometimes creates havoc during rains.  Agaar and Maniyaar are the other rivers that surround Bilaspur District.  This dolomite rich region is surrounded by lush green forests in the north and the coal mines of Hasdeo valley in the east.